The history of the first world cup in Uruguay 1930

 History of the creation of the Football World Cup

In 1904, FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association), which was founded by the French journalist Robert Guérin and had seven member countries, decided at its first congress to set up an international competition, the first of which was to take place in Switzerland the following year. However, under pressure from the British, this project was not carried out.
Under the impetus of its president, the Frenchman Jules Rimet, FIFA decided to organise a World Cup on 28 May 1928. It chose Uruguay as the host country on 18 May 1929 to celebrate the centenary of the country's independence, but also because the country agreed to pay the participation fees of the teams and to build a new stadium, the Estadio Centenario, in a difficult economic context .
but only thirteen accepted the invitation, nine from the American continent and four from the European continent. Few European teams accept to participate because of the two-week boat trip.

The first two matches of the World Cup were played simultaneously and saw France beat Mexico by four goals to one and the United States beat Belgium by three goals to nil. The first goal of the tournament was scored by Frenchman Lucien Laurent. The two big favourites of the tournament, Uruguay and Argentina, easily qualified for the final.
at the final amtch Argentina led by two goals to one at half-time, but the Uruguayans managed to turn things around in the second half by scoring three goals, eventually winning by four goals to two in front of nearly 70,000 spectators.
This World Cup is considered a great sporting success, with matches of a very high standard, but also a popular success, with more than 500,000 spectators for the 18 matches of the competition.
The creation of the trophy was entrusted to Abel Lafleur, a French goldsmith; its name - The Victory with Golden Wings - is 30 cm long and weighs 4kg of solid gold. This one having been won 3 times by Brazil (1958-1962-1970), it became its possession.
The current one (dating from 1974) was signed by Silvio Gazzaniga (Italian) and weighs 1 kg of gold more was won the 1st time by Rfa in 1974 on its soil.


There are no rules regarding the number of players allowed per team, but each team has between 15 and 25 players. Of the selected players whose date of birth is known,8,20 the youngest player is Brazilian Carvalho Leite, who was 18 years and 1 month old at the start of the competition. He played in his team's match against Bolivia as a centre-forward. The oldest player is Belgian Jean De Bie, aged 38 years and 1 month at the start of the tournament21 . He did not play any matches, however, the oldest player to play a match being Chilean defender Ulises Poirier, aged 33 years and 5 months in the first round match between Chile and Mexico.
Almost all the players were playing for a club in their own country, with only three Yugoslavs playing for a French club. 


1 Uruguay
2 Argentina
3 United States
4 Yugoslavia
5 Chile First round
6 Brazil
7 France
8 Romania
9 Paraguay
10 Peru
11 Belgium
12 Bolivia
13 Mexico


Seventy goals are scored in the eighteen games, an average of 3.9 goals per game. Argentina have the best attack with eighteen goals scored, but Uruguay have the best average of 3.8 goals per game compared to 3.6 goals for Argentina. Similarly, Brazil have the best defence with two goals conceded in two games, but Uruguay have a better average with 0.75 goals conceded per game. Belgium and Bolivia are the only two teams without a goal.


Argentine striker Guillermo Stábile finished as the tournament's top scorer, with eight goals in four games played. He was ahead of Uruguay's Pedro Cea, who scored five goals, including four in the semi-final and final, and the USA's Bertram Patenaude and Chile's Guillermo Subiabre, who each scored four.49 Thirty-six players scored at least one goal in the tournament. Thirty-six players scored at least one goal in the tournament, with Argentina having the most different scorers at seven.

The next World Cup was in 1934, in Italy: Campionato mondiale di calcio (World Football Championship), with sixteen teams qualifying for its finals in Italy from 27 May to 10 June 1934.
Italy played Czechoslovakia in the final for a second extra time, and although they conceded the first, late goal of the match, they eventually won the trophy. 3/1

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.